Congratulations to February’s Volunteer of the Month, Beverly Wilson!

Beverly

I started at KittyKind in the summer of 1999, working as a cleaning volunteer with Dorothy G. I went into Petco one day to buy pet food and came across a wall of cats. Who wouldn’t be intrigued? About a week after starting, I found one of the rescuers crying in the back. When I asked why she was crying, she said five cats were not eating, were dehydrated, and she had five minutes to get back to work. I asked how I could help. My first job as a “meds” person was to write a cat’s name on a syringe, wash the syringe in the bathroom downstairs, and return the syringe, wrapped, to the cat’s cage. In those days there was no money for extra syringes. You used it until it broke.

To learn more, I talked to the rescuers and found out how they kept their cats healthy at home. As happens when you volunteer for KittyKind, you start adopting [more] cats. The cats I adopted from KittyKind, as well as the cats I already had, were little con-artists who concealed their health issues well. Within five years, I had a classroom at home: diabetes, hyperthyroidism, kidney, cardiac, and mega-colon. My vet had to teach me quickly how to treat these problems. (What I learned primarily was that I should’ve adopted the vet, first. I’m convinced every family needs one.)

At KittyKind, health volunteers were needed. There was just me and two other people, Jayne and Elise. I contacted local colleges, recruiting pre-vet and pre-med students (although anyone is welcome to the group). Then supplies were needed, more specifically, money for the supplies, raised through raffles, bake sales, and grants. Now there’s a sizable group of volunteers dedicated to keeping the cats healthy, and there’s even a vet who comes in on Saturdays, thanks to Marianne. At least eight KittyKind healthcare volunteers have gone on to vet school, in addition to those already in vet school programs when they started at KittyKind.

KittyKind has grown so much since the days of the wrapped syringe. Yet one fact remains: It’s still a haven for rescued cats and the volunteers the cats rescue.

Leave a Reply

