Congratulations to Olivia Duerr, our September Volunteer of the Month!

Olivia Duerr and Spot

I have lived with and loved cats as far back as I can remember, always very sensitive to their needs and feelings. When I got my own apartment as a young adult, I considered delaying getting a cat in order to do some travelling. Someone pointed out that, even with brief visits while I was away at times, a cat in my home would be better off than in a shelter and so I went to the ASPCA and chose a cat that looked quiet and sad. We loved each other instantly, and I have never stopped sharing my home with cats since. I currently have two: Miss Mittens and Spot – both brought in by my teenage daughter after our previous cat passed away.

I retired from a career in social work over a year ago and joined KittyKind right away as a Cleaner and, a little later, Assistant Adoption Rep. I find it tremendously rewarding to give care and kindness to cats.  It is a great accomplishment for me to be able to help a very frightened cat learn to trust and relax enough to enjoy being petted. I care a lot about the welfare of all living creatures, no matter how large or small. It has also been wonderful to work with other volunteers who feel the same way about cats that I do. I have become aware of how much it takes to run an animal adoption organization and I greatly appreciate the dedication of the others who contribute so much to care for and find homes for our KittyKind cats!
Leave a Reply

