Congratulations to our July Volunteer of the Month, Nancy Alusick

Nancy Alusick

I’ve been volunteering for KittyKind for so long, I can’t remember when I started or even if it was in this century! Like most KittyKind volunteers, I started as a cleaner and feeder to the cats at the adoption center in Petco, Union Square. Then I washed the cats’ dishes for about 5 years. Now I help coordinate KittyKind events. I also work with the current KittyKind President, Marianne, on KittyKind’s Spay/Neuter Day. I fill out the medical forms for our cats that need surgery, pack them up in to their transport carriers, and help get them transported to the spay/neuter clinics. I also work with our adopters to help get unaltered cats to the spay/neuter clinics that are farther away, like the edge of Queens.

I don’t know why, but I have always been drawn to cats, feeding them in the alleys of New York City since I was a kid. I love volunteering for KittyKind because I get to meet amazing, cool and classy people from all walks of life…all united in scooping the litter boxes of our city’s homeless cats while they await their forever homes!

Leave a Reply

