Mariposa & Sebelina (aka Mimi & Carmen): “My heart leapt in recognition…I’ll take them. I’d like to adopt them both!”

I had been looking for a pet cat for several months, traipsing from shelter to shelter with my friend’s advice echoing in my mind: “You don’t choose the cat, the cat chooses you. Trust me.”  But none of the many felines I’d visited had deigned to notice me, much less choose me.  So I kept looking, waiting for some sign that would allow me to recognize my cat.  I walked into Petco for what seemed like the hundredth time to see if any new possibilities had arrived and was delighted to find three kittens and a beautiful butterscotch-colored cat, but was told to come back when the manager for adoptions would be there in order to pet and interact with the cats.  I dutifully showed up on the appointed evening only to find that the three kittens had already been adopted.  Well, at least I could visit the beautiful tawny cat except…ouch! She bites when you pet her.  OK, not my kitty. I was ready to walk home disappointed once again, when I noticed a beautiful green-eyed calico in an unmarked cage with an orange tabby.
“Can I see the calico?””Well, we don’t know much about her because she and the tabby arrived only just last night.  Anyway, the calico and the tabby would need to stay together, and I know you’re only looking for one.””Can I pet her anyway?”

The cage door was unlocked and I found myself face to face with two purring bundles of fur nuzzling my face and appearing to be as happy to meet me as I was them.  I was still under the illusion that I only wanted one cat, so tried to focus my attention on the calico.  But the orange tabby was one step ahead of me and wasn’t about to be left behind.  She kept up a campaign of meowing and snuggling.  As the cage door closed, she reached out her paw through the bars and rested it on my hand.  There it was.  My heart leapt in recognition.

“I’ll take them.  I’d like to adopt them both!”

I’m happy to report that Mariposa (Poesy) and Sebelina (Sebby) have been doing wonderfully.  They’re so sweet and affectionate, and keep me entertained with their playful antics.  They greet me meowing at the door when I get home every evening, and sleep on their special pillow on the bed.  They both love to sit at the window and watch the cars and people go by.  Many thanks to KittyKind for bringing two such loving friends into my life!

Leave a Reply

