Smokey, an “extremely affectionate and charming” senior’s happy new life

Smokey is a 10 year old cat, whose owner relinquished him after nearly a lifetime with him.  Too often, people overlook the “mature” cats in their selection of feline companions.  But, his happy ending is just more confirmation that “mature” cats provide wonderful, loving companionship and are especially appreciative of those who open their hearts and homes to them!

Smokey is doing just great!!!  He is a complete joy.  I’m SO happy I adopted him — I feel like HE found ME.  He is extremely affectionate and charming.  He has adjusted well to the apartment, eats well, sleeps at my feet, and purrs all the time.  (Yesterday I trimmed his nails and he even purred during the nail trimming :)).   I can’t imagine living without him now — he is just a total sweetheart.  Here are a bunch of pictures for you.

Thanks to you and everyone at Kitty Kind for helping with the adoption!!!  You have been just fantastic.

 

Sara

4 Responses to “Smokey, an “extremely affectionate and charming” senior’s happy new life”

  1. Debbie Goodman Says:

    Wow, what a great cat!

  2. Smokey's old mom Says:

    Dear Sara: I am Smokey’s previous owner and I had to give him up because I was unable to bring him with me when I moved back to Taiwan. Indeed it was an extremely heart-wrenching experience because he and I were so codependent since I adopted him from Kitty Kind in 2006. You have no idea how many times I cried over losing him and I am extremely happy that Smokey has found a nice owner like you. I wish you both the very best.

    Here is the message I sent to Valerie and Emily:

    “Hello Valerie and Emily,

    Greetings from Taiwan! I have just arrived for two days and it’s great to receive this wonderful news. Thank you so much once again for all that you’ve done for Smokey and me. You have no idea how elated I am upon knowing that Smokey has found a good new home! In fact I visited NY a week after I brought him back to Petco because I worry about his well-being quite a bit. It was a relief to see that his “room” was still kept so clean and that the volunteers/workers are so understanding and loving. Now that Smokey is able to find a new owner who cares about him even though he’s a senior cat makes me even more grateful; finally I don’t feel so guilty as though I have failed him or fear that he will spend the rest of his life in solidarity. While I may be a bit biased, I really think Smokey is a very charismatic cat and that it’s nice that the new owner also sees his special qualities. I wish her and Smokey many happy days together. If you don’t mind relaying my message to Smokey’s new mom I would be most thankful. Thank you very much once again and I will also try to get involved in helping other cats here in Taiwan.”

  3. Sara, Smokey's current mom Says:

    To Smokey’s old mom, in the hopes that you read this: thank you so much for your post! I just want you to know that Smokey is a wonderful cat and I’m so happy he came into my life. You clearly took such good care of him, and it shows — he is just so loving and sweet. He purrs every time I pick him up, he loves to snuggle, and he’s good with everyone he meets. I moved to a new apartment recently with an enclosed back deck area and he just loves going outside and sitting by the plants. You’re not THAT biased — Smokey is indeed very charismatic. I wish you all the best, and I will give Smokey a big hug for you!
    Sara

  4. Tammy Says:

    Dear Sara,

    Smokey’s old mom Simona is a friend of mine and I’m actually Smokey’s foster mom before she adopted him.

    I fostered Smokey for a couple of months in 2006 and on the day I was supposed to return Smokey to Petco, Simona called me up for a chat and asked about Smokey. I told her I had to give Smokey back to Petco and she was like, no!! I’ll adopt him!

    She drove all the way down to NYC from Massachusetts that day, having only gotten her drivers license a month ago. We went to Petco, signed the adoption papers, and she drove right back. Now that’s dedication.

    I just wanted to say that I’m so glad Smokey is comfortable in a new home with a mom who adores him and thank you so much for taking him in.

    Tammy

Leave a Reply

